Why Fit In When You Can Stand Out?

Stand Out

Growing up I always knew I was different: 1.) because of my Christian upbringing and 2.) the things I considered fun was more than likely boring to others. While many children at the age of seven and eight enjoyed playing outside, book series such as the Magic Tree House and the Junie B. Jones excited me and writing intrigued me. As I grew older my passion for both hobbies grew as well, however people started to look at me differently. “You actually like to read?” people would ask me. “Writing? Girl please, I’ll just go see the movie for that.” So to fit in, I kept my hobbies to myself and began to do what the “cool kids” would do. Fast forward a few years and I’m back with my original love- books and writing. Even in college I tried to rub off that “good girl” image which is what you’ll read in  my testimony , but that only left me empty. “So what’s you’re point Erica?” some of you maybe asking. My point is no matter how much you try to change, in all honesty the true you will be revealed whether you like it or not.

No matter what stage you are in life NEVER be a people pleaser. For the Word says “not to be conformed to the world: but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, so you’ll know what is good, acceptable and perfect to God” (Romans 12:2). So instead of being someone who you’re not, be who God has called you to be because “you were called for a purpose” (Exodus 9:16).

Can I keep it 100? To my ladies, so what if you’re a virgin and all of your girls are encouraging you to hook up with Shaun and you’re actually considering it. Don’t do it!  Keep in mind  “that your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit, who lives in you and was given to you by God. You do not belong to yourself” . This message applies to my men out there as well. Instead of trying to see how many legs you can get in your bed in a week, renew your mind and flee from fornication (1 Corinthans 6:18-19).  People wake up! We’re is a spiritual war and the devil is out lurking trying to find his next victim and trust me, you don’t want to be one.

“For we have all sinned and come short of His glory” but it is never too late to get it right with Christ (Romans 3:23). As Christians in college it is time to stand up and stand out. For life and time is to short to try and play church. “What do you mean Erica?”, one may ask. I mean if you can go out and party with your homies on Saturday night, that means you can rise up on Sunday morning and give God the proper praise He deserves. Shoot I know I did… Yes me. While in college, after I renewed my life with Christ, I still went out with friends, but I carried myself differently. My focus was no longer on what man I could attract that night, but it being a girls night out and it was time to have some fun.  Sometimes we would return back on campus a bit late, but I few for sure I’d be hopping into service that following day. And would I feel condemned after doing so? Not at all because I knew I hadn’t done anything displeasing to Christ. Which is what I would like for you all to understand- It is possible to have fun and still be a child of God.

Think about it- you remember when you were younger and you had not been introduced to the cares of the world and technology hadn’t taken over? What where some things you did? I know for me I loved sleep overs and story telling, so while in college I relived some of my childhood favorites and I encourage you to do the same.

Challenge!!

Evaluate yourself by asking this simple questions below. After doing so, determining your answers, ask God to show you the steps you should take to revert back to who you use to be. By trusting and believing Him, He will.

1.) Am I truly being my genuine self?

2.) Am I being a follower or a leader?

3.) Am I happy with who I am and how I’ve turned out to be?

4.) Does my mindset need a makeover?

Kirk Franklin ft. Da T.R.U.T.H- I Like Me

Leave a Reply

